Introducing Our Youth Champions (Old)

February 7, 2020

You won't want to miss out on the rich lineup of keynote speakers, presentations of the latest research and trends in SBCC and the chance to network with more than 1,500 people in the field.

New this year: Youth champions. Rising stars in SBCC from around the world have been selected to set the youth agenda for the five-day gathering and make sure that the voices of the future have a seat at the table.

Meet a few of them:

Mireille Umutoni Sekamana is a designer committed to using her expertise to empower young people in Rwanda to know their rights and have the information and agency to be in control of their future. Since 2016, she has worked with YLabs Rwanda to develop engaging and entertaining digital platforms that both resonate with young people and provide them critical information and access to services. Last year, she was one of 1000 talents who attended the UNLEASH Innovation Lab to create solutions on challenges around SDGs.

Balqees Shahin hails from Jordan and is currently working toward a master's degree in public health in Hungary. She has been a HeForShe advocate and a youth advisory board representative with UNICEF MENA. She has been a participant, facilitator and trainer at more than 10 workshops and conferences with UNICEF, UN Women and Erasmus+.

Innocent Grant is a clinical officer and a self-motivated youth leader in Tanzania, who specializes in managing digital media for reproductive health promotion. He founded and manages the "Contraceptive Conversations" project and is a founder of the "Her story is my story" project, which advocates for providing young people with access to sexual health information and friendly services.

Inspired for the future? Consider sponsoring a young person to attend the Summit. We had 378 young people from 59 countries apply for scholarships to the Summit and could only award scholarships to a small percentage of them. Please consider helping young SBCC practitioners from countries such as the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nicaragua, Ghana, St. Lucia and Bangladesh to attend.